top of page

It's Done!

Wow the last couple of weeks have been a blur. With finishing Jaak Chapter 1, and getting it to print, I have been running around selling it in to stores, and getting it in to the hands of customers and fans. It truly has been a dream come true. Looking back over the last few weeks at some of the things I have gotten to experience, I feel absolutely blessed.

It all started once I posted on social media that the first printing of Jaak was done. I was surprised at the response from friends and family that wanted a copy. I began selling them out of the back of my car. Needless to say I went through the first run almost immediately. I did manage to save a few copies to take with me to the Calgary Comic Con.

At the Calgary Comic Con my whole intention for being there was essentially one stop shopping for me. I went there with the intention of finding some comic shops, as well as showing it to some industry professionals. This would be the first time that I would be cold selling my book, and was extremely nervous about the reaction/criticism that I might receive. By the end of the day I had achieved my goals of talking to some stores and showing to some professionals, all things I heard were positive. Stores were happy with the quality and price of the book and all gave me was to follow up with them. This was great I was actually going to have my comic on shelves next to all those comics I have been reading all these years.

The next stop was at the comic store that I have been going to forever. Amazing Fantasy Comics in Red Deer for Free Comic Book Day!

This was a fantastic day, as I had so many great things during this day, my only regret from this day was that I couldn't just record the whole day that I was there. It started out with the first sale. The guy that bought it told me he came there just that day to buy my comic, this was very amazing and sure real for me. I actually thought he was joking and somebody was setting me up, but he was genuine and really wanted a copy of Jaak. This started off of a great day of meeting people and hopefully having new fans. I have to say Dave and his staff were great as people were checking out they would make sure that they sent them back to my table and at least checked out the book. By the end of the day I had sold more then what I had expected, I also Have people asking for pre orders for Chapter 2.

The next step has been to continued to sell my book into stores and hands of people. I have a goal in mind of how many I want to sell, and I am well on my way to that. All this has also helped me to inspire me to continue on with this story. I don't know where this is going to all end up, but as long as people are willing to spend money on Jaak I am going to keep making it.

Thanks to everybody for the support

Chad Scott


bottom of page